After obtaining his PhD degree from IIT Bombay Pratim Kumar Chattaraj joined IIT Kharagpur as a Lecturer (1988) where he is currently a Professor in the Department of Chemistry. He was the Convener, Kharagpur Local Chapter of INSA and also the Convener of the Centre for Theoretical Studies.. He visited the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA and the Friedrich Alexander University, Erlangen-Nurenberg, Germany as a post-doctoral fellow. He was also a Visiting Professor/Scientist in USA, Germany, Mexico and Chile.

Chattaraj has been actively engaged in teaching various undergraduate and postgraduate courses and research in the areas of density functional theory, ab-initio calculations, nonlinear dynamics, chemical reactivity, all-metal aromaticity, hydrogen storage and quantum trajectories. He has published around 300 research and review articles and written several book chapters.

He has been the convener/resource person of several Academy Lecture Workshops and an organizer of quite a few national and international conferences, and has chaired technical sessions and delivered invited talks in many International conferences in India, USA, Mexico, Chile, Spain, Russia, Poland, Belgium, Greece, France, Australia, Canada, UK, Italy, China, Switzerland, S. Korea, Oman, Norway, Japan, Sweden, Finland, etc. He has written many papers on chemical education. Chattaraj has edited three books (Taylor & Francis) apart from a two volume set of books (CRC, with Prof. S.K.Ghosh) and a special issue each of Journal of Chemical Sciences, Theochem (Computational and Theoretical Chemistry, with Prof. A.J.Thakkar) and Indian Journal of Chemistry A. He has been on the Editorial Board of Journal of Chemical Sciences, Journal of Molecular Structure (Theochem) and Indian Journal of Chemistry - A. He is the Editor of the Book Series on Atoms, Molecules and Clusters: Structure, Reactivity and Dynamics (Taylor and Francis). He was a council member of CRSI, the Dean (Faculty) and the Head, Chemistry Dept., IIT Kharagpur. He is a member of the Joint Science Education Panel of the three Indian Science Academies. Chattaraj has received several awards and medals including the University Gold Medal (1982), Bardhaman Sammilani Medal (1982), INSA Medal for Young Scientists (1990), Associate of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1990), BM Birla Science Prize (1997), CRSI Bronze Medal (2000), Dr BC Deb Memorial Award of the Indian Science Congress Association (2002-03), CRSI Silver Medal (2014) and IAAM Medal (2016). He is a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2001), Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi (2008), National Academy of Sciences, India, Allahabad (2009), West Bengal Academy of Science & Technology (2009) and The World Academy of Sciences (2013). He is a Sir J. C. Bose National Fellow (2010). He is a member of the FWO, Belgium.